Wednesday is Prince Spaghetti Day

How do you chose what’s for dinner at your home?  We take turns, with each of us choosing a meal. My daughter would always ask for spaghetti, no matter what day it was.  So we decided to make Wednesday spaghetti day.  In the commercial, Anthony’s family has spaghetti and meatballs every week.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TP0dy3qvl6g

That wasn’t going to work for us.  So I slowly began to branch out.  Fetuccine alfredo went over very well for my daughter, but not so well for my waistline. I found and adapted this light and tasty recipe that I hope you’ll enjoy as well. It’s an especially good option when you’re out of milk.

Skinny Chicken Alfredo

Skinny Chicken Alfredo Visual Shopping List

  • 8 oz fettucine, uncooked
  • 1 ¼ cups chicken broth
  • 4 tsp flour
  • 1/3 cup Neufchatel or light cream cheese
  • 3 Tbsp Parmesan cheese
  • ¼ tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • Parsley
  • Italian seasoning
  • 8 oz chicken tenderloins
  • Olive oil

Cook pasta as directed on the package. Meanwhile, sauté the chicken in olive oil and Italian seasoning, using enough to lightly coat the chicken. Set chicken aside to cool.  In a saucepan, combine flour and broth, whisking the flour into the broth.  Stir in Neufchatel, 2 T of parmesan cheese, nutmeg and pepper. Cook for a few minutes, whisking constantly, until mixture thickens. Remove from heat, cover and set aside.  Chop chicken into bite size pieces.  Drain pasta and toss with sauce. Plate the pasta, then top with chicken, remaining parmesan and parsley. Serve with a nice salad and Italian bread. Makes 4 servings.

Prep 10 minutes, total cooking time 20 minutes

About seekthesacred

Hi there! I'm Connie Chintall. Creative expression balances my professional life as an electrical engineer and management consultant. I currently author two blogs, Seek The Sacred Amidst the Ordinary, and Making A Heartfelt Home. Through these two blogs, I share my love of cooking, sewing, and imaginative parenting, none of which is possible without fervent prayer. Writing morning reflections, as well as making and using prayer beads, are contemplative practices that enhance my spirituality and enjoyment of life. I love to share my experiences with others by leading church workshops, retreats and classes. I've also led retreats and Lenten series on how personality affects prayer.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other subscribers